Log in
<< First  < Prev   1   2   Next >  Last >> 
  • June 25, 2020 1:45 PM | James Fleming (Administrator)
    • Melissa Schwartzberg edited and introduces

    • Candice Delmas, Juliet Hooker & Amna A. Akbar on civil & uncivil disobedience
    • Karuna Mantena, José Medina, Richard Thompson Ford, & Susan Brison on theories and strategies of political protest
    • Tabatha Abu El-Haj, John Medearis & Susan Stokes on the democratic significance of protest and dissent

    Join now or renew your membership: ONLY $20/yr for students and post-docs and $50 for faculty. You will receive Protest and Dissent now plus our next volume, Democratic Failure, in November.

    Click on “membership” above and then click on “join” or "renew." If you encounter problems, email James Fleming, the Secretary-Treasurer, at jfleming@bu.edu.

  • March 17, 2020 8:39 PM | James Fleming (Administrator)

    Welcome to the new website for the American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy. Current and recent members, we encourage you to renew your membership through this site. If clicking on "renew" does not work, try clicking on "join." If you are considering becoming a new member, please review the benefits of membership under the "Membership" tab above.

    If you have any problems with or suggestions concerning the site, please contact James Fleming, the Secretary-Treasurer, at theasplp@gmail.com.

  • March 17, 2020 8:26 PM | James Fleming (Administrator)

    The 2020 conference, to be held on September 25, will be on “Reconciliation and Repair: Mending Frayed Civic Bonds." Because of the Covid-19 pandemic, we have decided to hold the conference remotely, via Zoom meeting. More details about registration will follow

    Editors Melissa Schwartzberg and Eric Beerbohm have assembled the following excellent slate of speakers:


    • Principal paper: Roy Brooks (University of San Diego)
    • Commentator: Vesla Weaver (Johns Hopkins University, Political Science)
    • Commentator: Colleen Murphy (University of Illinois, Philosophy)

    Political Science

    • Principal paper: Catherine Lu (McGill University)
    • Commentator: Saira Mohamed (University of California-Berkeley, Law)
    • Commentator: Ryan Preston-Roedder (Occidental College, Philosophy)


    • Principal paper: Linda Radzik (Texas A & M University)
    • Commentator: Martha Minow (Harvard University, Law)
    • Commentator: Burke Hendrix (University of Oregon, Political Science)

    ASPLP members will have access to copies of the papers ahead of the conference.

  • March 09, 2020 5:39 PM | James Fleming (Administrator)

    Based on a vote of the members, the theme of our 2021 meeting will be “Civic Education” (in Circumstances of Extreme Polarization). The details of the meeting are yet to be determined. Stay tuned!

<< First  < Prev   1   2   Next >  Last >> 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software