Event details


  • September 30, 2022
  • 3 sessions
  • September 30, 2022, 12:00 PM 1:30 PM (EDT)
  • September 30, 2022, 2:00 PM 3:30 PM (EDT)
  • September 30, 2022, 4:00 PM 5:30 PM (EDT)
  • Harvard University's Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics as well as Zoom webinar



The annual conference of the American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy, on Policing, will be held Friday, September 30, 2022. We plan a hybrid event: an in-person conference at Harvard University’s Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics together with a Zoom webinar. There is no registration fee. We will distribute the Zoom link to registrants shortly before the conference. 

Preliminary Schedule

Editors Eric Beerbohm and Ekow Yankah have assembled the following outstanding group of speakers:

Panel I (Law): 12:00-1:30 EDT

·         Principal paper: Tracey Meares (Yale)

·         Philosophy commentator: Brandon Hogan (Howard)

·         Political Science commentator: Jim Wilson (Chicago)

Panel II (Political Science): 2:00-3:30 EDT

·         Principal paper: Neil Roberts (Williams/Toronto Fall 2022)

·         Philosophy commentator: Erin Kelly (Tufts)

·         Law commentator: Daniel Fryer (Michigan)

Panel III (Philosophy): 4:00-5:30 EDT

·         Principal paper: Adam Hosein (Northeastern)  

·         Law commentator: Alice Ristroph (Brooklyn)

·         Political Science commentators: Brianna Remster (Villanova) & Rory Kramer (Villanova) 

ASPLP members and registrants will have access to copies of the papers ahead of the conference.

Become a Member of the ASPLP

If you are not already a member of the ASPLP, we encourage you to join. All who become a member by September 30 will promptly receive NOMOS LXIV: Truth and Evidence and, later this year, NOMOX LXV: Reconciliation and Repair (the volumes growing out of our most recent conferences). Only $50 per year for regular members and a mere $20 for graduate students and emeritus/a members. If you have trouble with the website, contact Jim Fleming at jfleming@bu.edu.


David Estlund, President

James Fleming, Secretary-Treasurer

Eric Beerbohm & Ekow Yankah, Editors

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software