New Officers Elected

01 January 2016

At our January 2016 meeting, held in conjunction with the AALS, the members elected new officers to the council.  James Fleming (Law, Boston University) was elected President of the society, and Stephen Macedo (Politics, Princeton University) and Michele Moody-Adams (Philosophy, Columbia University) were elected Vice-Presidents.  Congratulations to Jim, Steve, and Michele!  And many thanks to our outgoing President, Debra Satz (Philosophy, Stanford University)‚Äč, outgoing Vice-President Ian Shapiro (Political Science, Yale University), and outgoing Immediate Past President Nancy Rosenblum (Government, Harvard University).  Debra Satz remains on the council as Immediate Past President.

2015 Conference Schedule Finalized and Papers Distributed

12 December 2015

Our (nominal) 2015 conference will take place on January 6, 2016 in New York.  The theme is Privatization, and more details, including the panel schedule, appear at the Conferences tab on this site.  The three principal papers have been distributed to ASPLP members.  If you did not receive them, contact Andrew Valls at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

2016 Conference Theme Announced

06 June 2015

By a vote of the ASPLP members, the theme for our 2016 conference has been selected.  The theme will be Political Legitimacy.  The conference will take place in conjunction with the meeting of the Central Division of the American Philosophical Association, early in 2017.

New Officers Elected

09 September 2014

At our August 2014 meeting, held in conjunction with the meeting of the American Political Science Association in Washington DC, the ASPLP members elected two new council members at-large, David Estlund (Philosophy, Brown University), and Deborah Hellman (Law, University of Virginia).  They replace Corey Brettschneider (Political Science, Brown University) and Robin West (Law, Georgetown University), and will serve for one three-year term.  Andrew Valls (Political Science, Oregon State University) was elected Secretary-Treasurer, replacing Alex Zakaras (Political Science, University of Vermont).  Many thanks to Corey, Robin, and Alex for their service.

NOMOS LV: Federalism and Subsidiarity now available from NYU Press

06 June 2014

NOMOS LV: Federalism and Subsidiarity, edited by James Fleming and Jacob Levy, was published in June 2014. Copies are available here from NYU Press.

Melissa Schwartzberg is New Co-Editor of NOMOS

04 April 2014

We’re delighted to announce that Melissa Schwartzberg, Associate Professor of Politics at NYU, has joined our team as co-editor of the NOMOS series. She will work alongside Jack Knight.

NOMOS LIV: Loyalty now available from NYU Press

06 June 2013

NOMOS LIV: Loyalty, edited by Sanford Levinson, Joel Parker, and Paul Woodruff, was published in June 2013. Copies are available here from NYU Press.

Debra Satz, James Fleming, and Ian Shapiro Elected President and Vice-Presidents of ASPLP

01 January 2013

At our annual meeting in New Orleans on January 4th, 2013, the assembled members elected Debra Satz as the new President of the ASPLP; they also elected James Fleming and Ian Shapiro as the new Vice-Presidents. Their tenure begins immediately, and they will all serve three year terms.

NOMOS LIII: Passions and Emotions now available from NYU Press

12 December 2012

NOMOS LIII: Passions and Emotions, edited by James Fleming, was published in December 2012. Copies are available here from NYU Press.

NOMOS LII: Evolution and Morality now available from NYU Press

09 September 2012

NOMOS LII: Evolution and Morality, edited by James Fleming and Sanford Levinson, was published in September 2012. Copies are available here from NYU Press.

NOMOS LI: Transitional Justice now available from NYU Press

05 May 2012

NOMOS LI: Transitional Justice, edited by Melissa Williams, Jon Elster, and Rosemary Nagy, was published in May. Copies are available here from NYU Press.

Browse News Archive | Subscribe via RSS